Winnipeg School Patrols Recognized

School Patrols Recognized

WINNIPEG - Winnipeg Police recognized the wonderful work all school patrols do in our city at the 44th Annual School Safety Patrol Awards ceremony.

Since 1936, Winnipeg Police have been involved in the School Safety Patrol Program. Winnipeg is proud to have had the first fully organized and officially recognized school patrol program in Canada.

Every year the patrols are judged on their ability, professionalism and technique while on patrol by the School Education Section of the Winnipeg Police.

In 2018, there were approximately 3,500 patrols ensuring our children arrive safely to their schools everyday in our city.

The top four City-Wide School Patrol teams:

1st Place Ecole LaVerendrye – Winnipeg School Division(South)

CAA Manitoba Trophy

2nd Place Sansome School – St James Assiniboia School Division

Winnipeg Free Press Trophy

3rd Place Linden Meadows School– Pembina Trails School Division

Manitoba Public Insurance Trophy

4th Place Ecole Tache – DSFM

Winnipeg Police Service Trophy

The Most Improved School Patrol Team is:

Dalhousie School – Pembina Trails School Division

CAA Manitoba Trophy

Louise Staples Nomination Award:

Louise Staples, a teacher at Greenway School, was instrumental in starting up the patrol program in Winnipeg. Every year the most efficient Patrol Captain receives an award in honour of Louise Staples.

The Winnipeg Police Service is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2017 Louise Staples Award is Hamdah Askar Norquay School – Winnipeg School Division(Inner)

PHOTO TWITTER / @wpgpolice

TOPICS:   Winnipeg News

What do you think?

Your comment