Winnipeg's Bombers Win Consecutive Cups

Bombers Win 2nd Straight Cup

WINNIPEG - The Winnipeg Blue Bombers are the first CFL team to win consecutive Grey Cups since the Montreal Alouettes did it in 2009-10.

Zach Collaros' 13-yard TD strike to Darvin Adams in overtime earned the Bombers a thrilling 33-25 win over the home town Hamilton Tiger-Cats last night at the 108th Grey Cup at Tim Hortons Field.

The Bombers at one point were down 22-13 in the 4th quarter until Collaros put together 15 points for the Bombers to take the lead.

A field goal by Hamilton with 6 seconds left in the 4th took the game to overtime.

“I’m on cloud nine Bob, it’s amazing,” Collaros told CJOB’s Bob Irving immediately after the game.

Collaros was named Grey Cup MVP, while Winnipeg receiver Nic Demski was named the Top Canadian, catching four passes for 27 yards and a touchdown.

The Bombers are the third team to win consecutive Grey Cups but the first to do it since the 1962 season.

Hundreds of fans flooded Portage and Main after the game to celebrate the win, the 12th in franchise history.

The 109th Grey Cup is scheduled for November 20th, 2022 in Regina.

TOPICS:   Winnipeg Blue Bombers

What do you think?

Your comment