Winnipeg's Bombers Sweep CFL Awards

Bombers Sweep CFL Awards

WINNIPEG - It was a clean sweep for the Winnipeg Blue Bombers last night at the CFL Awards in Hamilton, winning in every category where a Bomber was nominated.

Zach Collaros captured the Most Outstanding Player award, the league’s top honour. Joining him on the winner’s stage were linebacker Adam Bighill (Most Outstanding Defensive Player), Stanley Bryant (Most Outstanding Lineman), and Mike O’Shea (Coach of the Year).

Other winners last night included B.C. Lions linebackers Bo Lokombo (Top Canadian), Jordan Williams (Top Rookie), and kick returner DeVonte Dedmon (Top Special Teams Player) of the Ottawa Redblacks. Voting for the awards was conducted by the Football Reporters of Canada and the nine CFL head coaches.

Hamilton tackle Chris Van Zeyl received the Jake Gaudaur Veterans’ Award as the Canadian player who demonstrates the attributes of Canada’s veterans.

The Bombers look to capture a second straight Grey Cup against the Hamilton Tiger-Cats Sunday at Tim Hortons Field. Kickoff is 5pm (TSN, 680 CJOB).

TOPICS:   Winnipeg Blue Bombers

What do you think?

Your comment