Stefanson Shuffles Manitoba Cabinet

Stefanson Shuffles Cabinet

WINNIPEG - Manitoba premier Heather Stefanson her shuffled her cabinet.

“Manitobans want and expect a government that acts with integrity and compassion, and that puts their needs first. I am confident this team will focus on the priorities of Manitobans as we continue to fight back against COVID-19 and work together to build a healthier, stronger and more prosperous province for all,” said Stefanson. “We are committed to strengthening and realigning our health-care system to manage COVID-19 and to ensure Manitobans can access the care they need now and well into the future. We also recognize the need to enhance care for seniors and those experiencing mental health and additions challenges, and as such, I am proud that our government will have three dedicated and compassionate people providing health leadership where it is most needed."

Here are the ministers and their portfolios:

  • Audrey Gordon (MLA for Southdale) – minister of health;
  • Sarah Guillemard – (MLA for Fort Richmond) – minister of mental health and community wellness;
  • Scott Johnston (MLA for Assiniboia) – minister of seniors and long-term care;
  • Doyle Piwniuk (MLA for Turtle Mountain) – minister of transportation and infrastructure;
  • Andrew Smith (MLA for Lagimodiere) – minister of sport, culture and heritage;
  • Eileen Clarke (MLA for Agassiz) – minister of municipal relations;
  • Rochelle Squires (MLA for Riel) – minister of families, francophone affairs, status of women and accessibility
  • Alan Lagimodiere (MLA for Selkirk) – minister of Indigenous reconcilliation
  • Cliff Cullen (MLA for Spruce Woods) as deputy premier and minister of economic development, investment and trade;
  • Kelvin Goertzen (MLA for Steinbach) as minister of justice and attorney general, and minister responsible for Manitoba Public Insurance (MPI) and government house leader;
  • Cameron Friesen (MLA for Morden-Winkler) as minister of finance and minister responsible for Manitoba Hydro;
  • Scott Fielding (MLA for Kirkfield Park) as minister of natural resources and northern development, and minister responsible for the Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries Corporation (MBLL);
  • Jeff Wharton (MLA for Red River North) as minister of environment, climate and parks, and minister responsible for Efficiency Manitoba;
  • Reg Helwer (MLA for Brandon West) as minister of labour, consumer protection and government services, minister responsible for the Public Utilities Board (PUB) and minister responsible for the civil service;
  • Wayne Ewasko (MLA for Lac du Bonnet) as minister of education and early childhood learning;
  • Derek Johnson (MLA for Interlake-Gimli) as minister of agriculture; and
  • Jon Reyes (MLA for Waverley) as minister of advanced education, skills and immigration.

TOPICS:   Manitoba News

What do you think?

Your comment