Manitoba Bisons Win Combined Team Title

Bisons Win Combined Team Title

WINNIPEG, MB - This weekend the ninth annual Bison Classic track and field event was held at the James Daly Fieldhouse and for the forth straight year The Manitoba Bisons won the combined team title.

Over 350 athletes from six different universities (Alberta, Lethbridge, Saskatchewan, Regina, Lakehead and Manitoba) competed this weekend. The Bisons finished with 310.5 points in the combined team scoring. The second place team, the University of Alberta, ended up with 255.

Top Bison female performances at the Bison Classic included four first place finishes. Fifth year Sasanie Wanigasekara won the women’s triple jump (11.62m) while third year Tayo Babalola won the women’s 300m (40.40) and fourth year Brooke-Lynn Boyd was first in the women’s shot put (12.52m) while fifth year Rebekah Sass placed first in women’s 600m (1:35.62). On the men’s side, fifth year Abduselam Yussuf won the men’s 3000m (8:53.12).

Overall, there were 21 individual Top 3 results by Bison participants (5 – 1st place; 9 – 2nd place; 7 –3rd place) during the Classic meet. The Bison relays teams were first in women’s 4x800m and men’s 4x800m and second in women’s 4x200m and men’s 4x200m and 4x400m teams.

Bison track and field head coach Claude Berube stated about the meet and the performances, “It was a very good two days and happy with overall efforts of both teams. Both of our women’s relay teams ran well including all three of the men’s relay teams. Also, we increased the number of our travel team. Overall, pleased with the meet and the team win plus our strong individual results. I am excited for the rest of the season and for being the host of the 2018 Canada West Track and Field Championships in February.”

Here are the Bisons Top 3 female and male track and field results from the event;

Sasanie Wanigasekara – women triple jump

1st with jump of 11.62m

Abduselam Yussuf – men 3000m

1st with a time of 8:53.12

Tayo Babalola – women 300m

1st in a time of 40.40

Brooke-Lynn Boyd – women shot put 1st in a throw of 12.52m

Rebekah Sass – women 600m

1st in a time of 1:35:62

Oyinko Akinola – men triple jump

2nd with jump of 14.61m

Luc Deleau – men 300m

2nd in a time of 34.41

Nicola Odaisky – women 1000m

2nd in a time of 3:02.36

Simon Berube – men 1000m

2nd in a time of 2:28.36

Clement Sackey – men shot put 2nd in a throw of 14.96m

Matthew Van Schepdael – men 600m

2nd in a time of 1:20:98

Deric Kornelson – men 1500m 2nd in a time of 4:06.26

Brianna Tynes – women 60m

2nd with a time of 7.81

Marcel Dufault – men 60m

2nd with a time of 7.08

Jamie Dumaran – men triple jump

3rd with jump of 13.91m

Keara Andrew – women shot put 3rd in a throw of 11.82m

Jade Vilela – women 60m hurdles

3rd in a time of 9.04

Syed Aoun – men 60m

3rd with a time of 7.09

Jean-Luc Perron – men pole vault 3rd in a jump of 4.00m

Sasanie Wanigasekara – women long jump

3rd with jump of 5.55m

Nathan Smith – men high jump 3rd in a jump of 2.03m

Women 4x800 relay team

1st in a time of 9:13.79

Women 4x200 relay team

2nd in a time of 1:41.71

Men 4x800 relay team

1st in a time of 7:43.44

Men 4x200 relay team

2nd in a time of 1:27.95

Men 4x400 relay team

2nd in a time of 3:18.75

David Marshal, Manitoba Post with files from Chris Zuk - University fo Manitoba

File Photo

TOPICS:   Manitoba News

What do you think?

Your comment